The CSGO Esports Championship Series Season 5 Finals start on June 8

Posted on June 5, 2018 - Last Updated on August 24, 2020

London will host the most important Counter Strike Global Offensive tournament of the month, starting on June 8. For three days, the best CS:GO players will get together for an event with a massive prize pool of $660,000. The most successful eight teams will walk away with this money and the lion’s share of $250,000 will go to the winners.


Esports Championship Series Season 5 Finals – Format

The tournament is scheduled to begin on June 8 with the group stage and the first phase of the competition will conclude the next day. It will feature a two double elimination format, with each group consisting of four teams. The opening matches will consist of a best of one series, while the elimination and deciding games will be best-of-three. Only the best two teams from each group will advance to the playoffs. During this stage of the competition the winners will be decided, in a single elimination bracket. All playoff games are best-of-three, to reduce the role played by luck in deciding the victors.

Cache, Cobblestone, Inferno, Mirage, Nuke, Overpass and Train are the maps on which all the games will be played. The CS:GO Esports Championship Series Season 5 Finals games will be analyzed and commented by well-known experts. The lineup includes the likes of Tomi Kovanen, Jason O’Toole, Daniel Kapadia and James Bardolph among others. All the matches will be broadcasted in real-time, so players can watch the live streams.

Place your live CSGO bets with our best esports betting tipsters:

Prize Pool and Participants

$660,000 will be distributed among eight teams, with the ones who make the final to receive more than half of this amount. The winners will get $250,000, while the runners up will have to settle for $120,000. Finishing on the podium only gives bragging rights, because both the team in the third place and the one in fourth will receive $65,000. The next two CSGO teams will receive a not so negligible amount of $45,000, while the final two squads are guaranteed to claim a $35,000 prize.

The lineup includes eight teams, four from North America and the other four from Europe. Astralis, G2 Esports, FaZe Clan and Fnatic will represent the old continent and they are credited with good chances to win the trophy. The North Americans will rely on NRG Esports, Cloud9, Team Liquid and Luminosity Gaming to carry the torch. Group A will feature Astralis, Fnatic, Cloud9 and Team Liquid while NRG Esports, Luminosity Gaming, Esports and FaZe Clan will play in Group B.

In each group there will be two teams from North America and two from Europe, so local fans can cheer for their favorites. Astralis and NRG Esports are group leaders and among the favorites to win the trophy and the Europeans play the first game against FaZe Clan. NRG Esports and Fnatic will open the series of Group A matches, followed by one of the most anticipated games between FaZe Clan and Team Liquid.


Lea Hayes Avatar
Written by
Lea Hayes

Lea is crazy about esports in general, and she should be your first point of contact for when you want to get started with esports betting. Not only does Lea have an in-depth knowledge of all the top esports teams and players, but she’s not shy of sharing her esports betting tips either.

View all posts by Lea Hayes